Latest Posts

Latest Posts

Monday, 23 March 2015

Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: August 27th, 2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Rating: YA 16+
Genre/s: Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 418

"A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend."From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie...and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.
 
If you had told me that a sequel could so far outdo its predecessor I probably would have laughed. In your face, and loudly. But after reading Crown of Midnight I now know that with a truly talented author like Maas, anything is possible. Crown of Midnight was ten times better than I ever could have imagined and while I did really like the first one, by the wyrd this was just in a whole new ball park! 

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (33)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It's to spotlight upcoming releases I can't wait to get my hands on!

                                                     This week's WoW pick is...
A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore. 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. 

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. 

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Release Date: March 18th, 2015


Combined with the fact that this is written by Sarah J. Maas, whose fiction books I absolutely LOVE as well as that this is loosely based on the Beauty and the Beast tale (one of my favorites of all-time), this just may be my most highly anticipated book of the year so far. Also I am a huge fan of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin so this kind of seems tailored for me. As you can tell, I'm getting just slightly carried away so I'm going to stop before my expectations get even higher and more blown up. And that's me for the week! 



What are you waiting on? :)

Sunday, 15 March 2015

Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: August 7th, 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Rating: YA 15+
Genre/s: Fantasy
Pages: 416

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. 

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

 Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. 

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

I have been wanting to read a good Fantasy book for a long time, and Throne of Glass fulfilled my every want! I devoured every single bit of it.

Wednesday, 4 March 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (32)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It's to spotlight upcoming releases I can't wait to get my hands on!

                                                     This week's WoW pick is...

“When you fall in love, you will carve out your heart and throw it into the deepest ocean. You will be all in—blood and salt.” 

These are the last words Ash Larkin hears before her mother returns to the spiritual commune she escaped long ago. But when Ash follows her to Quivira, Kansas, something sinister and ancient waits among the rustling cornstalks of this village lost to time. 

Ash is plagued by memories of her ancestor, Katia, which harken back to the town’s history of unrequited love and murder, alchemy and immortality. Charming traditions soon give way to a string of gruesome deaths, and Ash feels drawn to Dane, a forbidden boy with secrets of his own. 

As the community prepares for a ceremony five hundred years in the making, Ash must fight not only to save her mother, but herself—and discover the truth about Quivira before it’s too late. Before she’s all in—blood and salt.

Release Date: September 22nd, 2015


This seems so interesting and I don't think I've ever heard of a premise like this one. Also, the theme of blood and salt? Unbelievably poetic and haunting, just like the cover. From the reviews, I've heard this is perfect for Horror fans (which I am clearly not) so I hope this is gruesome and wonderfully gory but not too much so.





What are you waiting on? :)

Sunday, 1 March 2015

Discussion Post: 50 Shades of Grey Movie

Yikes. Where do I even begin? If you've started cringing and/or backing away after reading the title of this post, please stop. I'm going to try and make this as pleasant and inoffensive (basically, unlike the book) as I can! Promise.

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Top Ten Tuesday (2): Our Favorite Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the bloggers over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week's Top Ten Tuesday is...

Our Favorite Heroines

1) Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series. Hermione Granger taught me so many lessons that, looking back, I am immensely thankful for. She taught me that it's okay to not fit in, that one should never dull their own shine or talent or interest to belong with the masses. Being different and standing out should be celebrated, and J.K. Rowling perfectly exemplifies that with Hermione! A kick-ass, quirky, smart and empowering heroine who managed to keep Harry and Ron in line all those years. Where would they be without her?!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...